Books, media, government documents, manuscript collections, etc.: catalog searches
WorldCat contains the books from most of the college/university libraries in the U.S. plus some from Canada and Europe. You may be able to request books you find in WorldCat via Interlibrary Loan.
- Wright State University Libraries CatalogLocate materials owned by the University Libraries.
- OhioLINK CatalogA consortium of 120 Ohio academic libraries. If you cannot locate an item in the University Libraries catalog, try OhioLINK. Some items can be requested for delivery to Wright State University. Look for the green request button.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Identify worldwide library ownership of any type of material. Each entry contains descriptive information and library holdings. Most useful to determine ownership of books, archive literature, and journal subscriptions. Do not use to search for the content of book chapters or individual articles. The FirstSearch version of Worldcat includes advanced search options for highly developed search strategies.
Starting Points - SHAFR Bibliography
- SHAFR Guide OnlineA near-comprehensive, 2.1 million-word online annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. It aims to jump-start the research of both students from undergraduate to graduate school as well as the most advanced scholars.
Ebook Collections
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of scholarly, subject-specific reference titles in many topic areas, including the arts, business, education, history, the sciences, technology, literature, and the social sciences. Excellent for in-depth overviews of terms or concepts. Search individual e-books or whole collections.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Search a selection of ebooks published by Oxford on economics and finance, philosophy, political science, and religion. Recently-published books are added each year.
- Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press’ search platform for academic ebook and journal article content. Cambridge Core provides access to over 1.6 million journal articles and 36,000 books.
- Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK EBC) This link opens in a new window
Read and search full-text scholarly and reference books from a wide range of publishers including ABC-Clio, Gale, Oxford University Press, Palgrave, Sage, Springer, and university presses. Also known as the OhioLINK EBC.
- Ebook Central (Formerly Ebrary) This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of books from academic and commercial publishers. Wright State University library does not have access to all of the content. Available books are marked with a yellow seal. Formerly called ebrary.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Read the full-text of books from academic and commercial publishers, as well as a large number of older works in the public domain.
- Directory of Open Access eBooksDirectory of open access ebooks from over 50 publishers; scholarly monographs, many from university presses
