History - Top Article Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use with Historical Abstracts. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Use with America History and Life. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
-
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the arts and humanities and covers selected items from major science and social science journals. Represented disciplines include archaeology, architecture, art, classics, dance, film, folklore, poetry, history, language, linguistics, poetry, radio, television, and theatre. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as AHCI.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowIndexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use Advanced Search for citation searches.
Websites for Chicago/Turabian Format
-
The Chicago Manual of Style official websiteAmazingly informative and thorough website from the U of Chicago Press. Lots of good examples and a great Q & A section. 18th edition (2024) with a link to the site for the 17th edition.
-
5 Changes That Matter from The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th EditionRussell Harper, who has served as principal reviser of the last three editions of The Chicago Manual of Style, shares five changes that matter from the most recent edition. In Writer's Digest.
-
Notes and Bibliography: Sample CitationsCMOS Citation Quick Guide on the official website.
-
Author-Date: Sample CitationsCMOS Citation Quick Guide on the official website.
-
What's New in the 18th EditionFrom the official website.
-
New Questions and AnswersFrom the official website.
-
Chicago Manual of Style (Author/Date System)Nice guide to Chicago author/date style from Colorado State Libraries.
-
Turabian Quick GuideWebsite from the publisher of the manual.
-
Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OwlPurdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide to the Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition.
-
Chicago Style Citation Guide | Templates & Citation ExamplesScribbr's citation guide for The Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition). It contains guidelines for two styles of citation: notes and bibliography and author-date.
Citing Generative AI
-
FAQ: How do you recommend citing content developed or generated by artificial intelligence, such as ChatGPT?The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) recommends that you credit ChatGPT and similar tools whenever you use the text that they generate in your own work.
Multimedia
-
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers thousands of titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Kanopy BASE
View pre-selected films and academic documentaries. Categories include art, education, film studies, global studies, media and communication, psychology, and other social sciences and humanities disciplines.
