Articles: best databases to use
- CINAHL This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowContains more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFeaturing content from medical texts, reference books and journals. Great for background reference information.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProfessional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowA good multidisciplinary database. Includes the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index Expanded, and the Social Science Citation Index. Search them together or separately. NOTE: Web of Science can also help you identify classic but OFTEN CITED ARTICLES.
How do I get an article if Wright State does not have it?
If you use the 
button and there is no full text, you can request the article for free through interlibrary loan.
About Scholarly Articles and Finding Professional Nursing and Healthcare Articles
- What are scholarly articles? How do I find them? How do I read them?Brief tutorials. Includes 5-minute video explaining peer-review.
- How do I find scholarly and/or professional nursing and healthcare articles?CINAHL help: subject searching and limiting search results to articles likely to be written by nurses.
- How do I find scholarly and/or professional medical and healthcare articles?PubMed help: subject searching, other search features, and how to limit to nursing-related research.
- How do I get an overview of research designs and methods?Links to selected eBooks.
Types of Reviews in Healthcare - Articles
- Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.xRequires authentication with w number and password. To access the full text, click the PDF full text link to the left of the abstract.
- MacEntee, M. I. (2019). A typology of systematic reviews for synthesising evidence on health care. GERODONTOLOGY, 36(4), 303–312. https://doi.org/10.1111/ger.12439Requires authentication with w number and password. To access the full text, click the PDF full text link to the left of the abstract.
Evidence Evaluation Table - Template and Sample
- Evidence Evaluation Table TemplateCopy and paste from this template to create the columns for your own Evidence Evaluation Table. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part I,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, July 2010, p. 47-52]
- Sample Evidence Evaluation Table - CompletedThis is an example of an Evidence Evaluation with all of the elements filled in. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part III,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, November 2010, p. 43-51.]
- More EBP Resources for Nursing"How to" links, tutorials, articles, and videos covering all aspects of the process of Evidence-Based Practice.
APA Style
- APA Style HelpGeneral APA guidelines, samples and templates, and sample citations for various types of sources.
Publishing
- Tools for Nurse AuthorsHelp identifying journals in which to publish, determining author guidelines, journal metrics, and more!
- Retraction Watch DatabaseShould you wish to reference the Retraction Watch Database, we suggest the following as a basic form (of course, different citation styles may require different formatting) :
The Retraction Watch Database [Internet]. New York: The Center for Scientific Integrity. 2018. ISSN: 2692-465X. [Cited (applicable date)]. Available from: http://retractiondatabase.org/.
