Databases for Nursing & Healthcare
-
Wright State University Libraries CINAHL Help GuideTips and tricks to using the CINAHL database, including CINAHL Subject Headings.
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Search journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Collection of fulltext clinical medicine resources from Elsevier. Content includes medical texts, journal articles, Clinical Overviews/First Consult for evidence-based care, clinical guidelines, drug information, videos of clinical procedures (Procedures Consult), images, patient education handouts and more.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
-
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This option will search a combination of the Clarivate science, social science, and arts and humanities citation databases, and conference citations in science and social science. This option is useful when searching for highly cited interdisciplinary literature.
Licensing and Certification Exam Preparation (NCLEX and Family Nurse Practitioner)
-
Mometrix eLibrary
This collection is the world’s most comprehensive test preparation tool, offering study materials for over 1,500 different exams, including Ohio Assessments for Educators study guides and practice tests. It also includes flash cards, practice exam questions, and study guides for the NCLEX-RN and the Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Exam.
Temporary access to this database and its contents was provided through the Students First grant. This database is available through 2026.
Avoiding Predatory Journals
-
Beware Of Predatory JournalsShort feature about how to spot journals that may engage in deceptive practices.
Videos for Nursing & Healthcare
Wright State University has purchased access to these titles/collections for classroom or online teaching, but clips and videos cannot be posted to the open web. A Wright State University campus user name and password is required to access the streaming files.
Always cite multimedia resources as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
Streaming Video Collections:
-
Academic Video Online: Premium (Alexander Street)
Academic Video Online delivers thousands of titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
-
Kanopy BASE
View pre-selected films and academic documentaries. Categories include art, education, film studies, global studies, media and communication, psychology, and other social sciences and humanities disciplines.
-
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of therapy sessions by counseling professionals that illustrate common issues arising during the course of therapy. Includes presentations by well-known therapists who discuss issues of mental health and wellness.
-
SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy Collection
Contains over 480 streaming videos on topics including counseling research methods, counseling setting/client groups, theory and approaches, counseling skills, and professional issues.
Evidence Evaluation Table - Template and Sample
-
Evidence Evaluation Table TemplateCopy and paste from this template to create the columns for your own Evidence Evaluation Table. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part I,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, July 2010, p. 47-52]
-
Sample Evidence Evaluation Table - CompletedThis is an example of an Evidence Evaluation with all of the elements filled in. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part III,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, November 2010, p. 43-51.]
-
More EBP Resources for Nursing"How to" links, tutorials, articles, and videos covering all aspects of the process of Evidence-Based Practice.
Additional Synthesis Tables (for easy visual summaries)
-
Full article: Critical appraisal of the evidence, Part III"It’s not the number of studies or projects that determines
the reliability of their findings, but the uniformity and
quality of their methods" (p. 46).
See Table 2 for an example of the Body of Evidence Table and Table 3 for an example of a Data Extraction Table.. Note: For Data Extraction Table, Arrows may be used for increases and decreases. Include footnotes to add important information about each study (such as level of evidence and statistical significance). Table may also include color-coding for quick interpretation (for example, green for good; red for bad), but color should not be the only way meaning is conveyed.
APA Style
-
APA Style HelpGeneral APA guidelines, samples and templates, and sample citations for various types of sources.
