General Statistical Tables
If you are looking for general statistical tables on a subject, you may find what you need in these compilations. If you need detailed information on specific topics or subjects select from the tabs above. Some resources are available only to Wright State students, faculty and staff.
- ProQuest statistical abstract of the United StatesSince 2013, ProQuest has taken on responsibility for updating and releasing this former US Census Bureau publication, the most used statistical reference tool in US libraries.
Latest edition at the Information Desk, second floor Dunbar Library
HA202 .S85
- Sage Data (Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
Includes local, state, and business statistical categories. Search data series for all U.S. States and the District of Columbia, or by counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas down to the zip code level. Download data or use data visualization tools.
- Explore Census DataThe replacement for American FactFinder. Use the Advanced search feature. You will be walked through each step to answer your demographic and economic information needs.
- Historical Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThe Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The Census Bureau is no longer collecting and compiling the Abstract.
- County and City Databooks 1947-2007 - Hathi TrustThis resource provides access to the 1944 through 2007 County and City Data Books.
- QuickFacts for states, counties and cities - US Census BureauQuickFacts includes statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people. Enter state or county in search box.
- Tapestry - ESRISearch for credit card and census data by Zip Code.
- USITC DataWebUSITC DataWeb provides U.S. merchandise trade and tariff data in a user friendly web interface. Trade data for 1989 to the present are available on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved using a sophisticated querying tool with features such as user defined country and commodity groups.
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a U.S. government agency that provides statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the public health of the American people. It is a unit of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.
- Data Sets HUD UserFrom the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Provides access to the original data sets generated by Office of Policy Development and Research sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- Data USAData USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, you can simply point to Data USA to answer your questions. Data USA provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge.
- Dataset Search - GoogleUsing a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Federal Statistics for Localities
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe mission of the BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)Statistics from airlines, airports, highways, maritime, multi-modal sources, pipeline & hazardous materials, rail, and transit.
- ECHO: Enforcement and Compliance History OnlineUse EPA's Enforcement and Compliance History Online website to search for facilities in your community to assess their compliance with environmental regulations. You can also investigate pollution sources, examine and create enforcement-related maps, or explore your state's performance.
- U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Developmentsee the interactive maps for data about Housing Problems of Low Income Households, Median Household Income, Building Permits Data, and Metropolitan Area Vacancy.
- Public Sector: Federal, State, & Local Governments - CensusFrom the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides information about government employment and payrolls; federal spending; the structure of governments; and statistics on government activities concerning finance, taxes, criminal justice, education, and libraries.
- State of the Cities Data SystemsFrom the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. Provides data for individual metropolitan areas, central cities, and suburbs: demographic and economic characteristics of the population; unemployment rates; jobs, business establishments, and average pay; violent and property crime rates; information on local building permits; government finances; and Comprehensive Housing Affordability Strategy.
- Ohio Cities, Townships & Counties - Office of Research, Department of Development, State of OhioThe Office of Research provides data and analysis on the economic, industrial, demographic, and program trends of the state of Ohio, its businesses, and its people. Through reports, maps, and databases, businesses and individuals can find descriptive data on the economic activities of Ohio as well as the population trends of cities, villages, townships, and counties.
Country Statistics from the United Nations
- Demographic and Social Statistics - United Nations Statistics DivisionThe Statistics Division compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries’ efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems. The Demographic and Social Statistics web site provides a global center for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources
- Statistical Yearbook - United NationsThe Statistical Yearbook is an annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations.
- Demographic Yearbook - United NationsThe United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices.
- Our World in DataOur World in Data (OWID) is a scientific online publication that focuses on large global problems such as poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality. It is a project of the Global Change Data Lab, a registered charity in England and Wales, and founded by Max Roser, a social historian and development economist. The research team is based at the University of Oxford.
- Population and Vital Statistics Report - United NationsThe Population and Vital Statistics Report presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years. It also presents United Nations estimates of the mid-year population of the world, and its major areas and regions.
- State of the World Population - United Nations Population FundUNFPA supports countries in using population data for policies and programs to reduce poverty and to ensure that every pregnancy is wanted, every birth is safe, every young person is free of HIV/AIDS, and every girl and woman is treated with dignity and respect.
- United Nations Population Information NetworkUnited Nations Population Information Network is a guide to population information on UN system web sites.
- Office of Foreign Labor Certification - US Dept. of LaborOffice of Foreign Labor Certification (OFLC) generates program data that is essential both for internal assessment of program effectiveness and for providing the Department's external stakeholders with useful information about the immigration programs administered by OFLC. Source for H1B and H2A-B data.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations FAOSTATThe Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger. This is their data page.
Ask A Librarian
Statistical Data
Featured Site
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A compendium of statistics on the United States from the Colonial period forward. Statistics cover a broad range of topics placed in historical context. Users can download customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own area of interest.