Books: dictionaries
Most print foreign language dictionaries are available in Dunbar Reference Bookcase 2. Find additional print and online dictionaries using the WSU Libraries Catalog.
- Larousse OnlineFrench and French-English dictionaries.
- Mittelhochdeutsches handwörterbucha website
- Anglo-Norman dictionary [electronic resource]Part of the Anglo-Norman On-Line Hub.
- Grand Larousse de la Langue Française en Sept Volumes7 volumes. available in print: [Dunbar Ref Bookcase 2 PC2625 .G7]
- Dictionnaire Alphabétique et Analogique de la Langue Française6 volumes. Available in print: [Dunbar Reference PC2625 .R552]
- Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary2 volumes. Available in print: [Dunbar Reference PC2640 .H317 1972]
- Harrap's Standard German and English Dictionary3 volumes. Available in print: [Dunbar Reference PF3640 .H3]
- Langenscheidt's New Muret-Sanders Encyclopedic Dictionary of the English and German Languages[Dunbar Ref Bookcase 2 PF3640 .L257]
- Diccionario de Autoridades3 volumes. Available in print: [Dunbar Reference PC4625 .A3 1726a]
- Diccionario de uso del Español2 volumes. Available in print: [Dunbar Ref Bookcase 2 PC4625 .M6 2007]
Books: literary dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Dictionnaire des Littératures de Langue Française3 volumes. Available in print: [3rd floor PQ41 .B4 1984]
- Dictionary of French LiteratureAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference PQ41 .B7]
- The New Oxford Companion to Literature in FrenchAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference PQ41 .N48 1995]
- Manual de Literatura EspañolaAvailable in print: [Dunbar 3rd floor PQ6032 .P4 1980]
- The Oxford Companion to Spanish LiteratureAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference PQ6006 .O93]
- Reallexikon der Deutschen LiteraturgeschichteAvailable in print: [Dunbar 3rd floor PT41 .R41]
- The Oxford Companion to German LiteratureAvailable in print: [Dunbar Reference PT41 .G3 1997]
Browsing Foreign Language Literature
If you'd like to browse texts in a foreign language, see the following call number ranges:
- French literature - PQ1 up to about PQ4000
- Spanish literature - PQ6000 up through the PQ8000s
- Portuguese literature - PQ9000s
- German literature - PT1 through the PT4000s
- Chinese literature - 4th floor collection
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
Brian Olesko
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3022
Subjects: African and African American Studies, Anthropology, Applied Behavioral Sciences, Arabic, Chinese, Communication, Criminal Justice, French, Geography, German, Government Resources, International Studies, Mathematics, Model UN, Modern Languages, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Regional Studies, Sociology, Spanish, Statistical Data, Tests and Measurements, Urban Affairs, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.