Articles
You find articles or article citations in databases. The ones listed below will have articles or article citations that are most relevant to this class. Please note that if we do not have the article you need you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, a free service. Never pay for an article as a student!
IMPORTANT: In the databases below you'll see this button: 
or this text: Full Text – Wright State. If you don't see a link to the full text of the article, click on the Find It button! It will open a new window or tab in your browser and it will show you if we have the full text of the article through one of our other online databases or if we have the journal that your article is from in print.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books and dissertations on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Use with America History and Life. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines. On the results page, you can further limit results to subjects History and/or Slavic Studies journals
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the arts and humanities and covers selected items from major science and social science journals. Represented disciplines include archaeology, architecture, art, classics, dance, film, folklore, poetry, history, language, linguistics, poetry, radio, television, and theatre. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as AHCI.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Articles: finding the full text of an article when...
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page and use Quick Search.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University Libraries owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the access rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full text.
- If Wright State University Libraries does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Searching Tips
You can use these searching tips for your other classes too.
- Article databases and the catalog don't recognize phrase searching, so break your topic into the main keywords or concepts. For example, if your topic is the effect of the serf emancipation on Russia's political structure, don't type "the effect of the serf empancipation on Russia's politcal structure" in the search box. Instead, type in "'serf emancipation' AND polit* AND russia" or something similarly structured.
- When you find a good article, look at their footnotes or endnotes to see what articles the author read--you might find a few good ones that you can use. See box below for how to find articles when you have a citation.
- Use truncation to expand your search results, for example, if you type in "polit*" it will capture politics, political, politicize, etc. Some databases do this automatically, but many do not.
- Click on linked author names, subject headings, or any other descriptive terms in book and article descriptions.
Books
If you need to search for books, there are three options at your disposal: the University Libraries, OhioLINK and WorldCAT catalogs. If you're having trouble finding a book's availability, be sure to contact me.
You find books in catalogs or databases. You can begin with the Wright State catalog. If you're having trouble finding books on your topic in the Wright State University catalog, try using the OhioLINK catalog. If you're searching in the OhioLINK catalog, remember to look under Library Holdings to see if Wright State owns the book before you request it.
You can also find books in a database called WorldCat. WorldCat has all the stuff--books, journals, archives, sound recordings and more!--from most university libraries in the US and others around the world. If you're looking for a book, be sure to put a check here:
When you get your list of results, check to see if the book is in the Wright State library (the green symbol will be there); if you want to see if it's in OhioLINK or if you can request it via Interlibrary Loan, click the "Find It" link.
You will see your options here (click the Find It! button to see if it's in OhioLINK):
Primary Resources
- Primary Sources in English for Imperial RussiaEnglish translations of primary sources for Imperial Russia. These sources are available in our library collections and through OhioLINK. This is not an exhaustive list of primary sources. Please check the University Libraries and OhioLINK catalogs for additional sources.
Appointments
