Find Articles: Best Bets
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center contains citations to journal articles and document abstracts on all aspects of education research and practice. Full-text may be available via Find-It and linked ERIC documents.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes library literature from periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management.
Books
If you need to search for books, there are three options at your disposal: the University Libraries, OhioLINK and WorldCAT catalogs. If you're having trouble finding a book's availability, be sure to contact me.
You find books in catalogs or databases. You can begin with the Wright State catalog. If you're having trouble finding books on your topic in the Wright State University catalog, try using the OhioLINK catalog. If you're searching in the OhioLINK catalog, remember to look under Library Holdings to see if Wright State owns the book before you request it.
You can also find books in a database called WorldCat. WorldCat has all the stuff--books, journals, archives, sound recordings and more!--from most university libraries in the US and others around the world. WorldCat separates various formats under different tabs (books, internet, archival, articles, serials, scores, etc).
When you get your list of results, check to see if the book is in the Wright State library (the green symbol will be there); if you want to see if it's in OhioLINK, click the FindIt link. This shows the WorldCat view for an individual book record.
Database Search Strategies
- Database Search Strategies: YouTube PlaylistThis YouTube playlist includes videos on searching the University Libraries databases.
Videos:
Introduction to QuickSearch
Brief Look at QuickSearch Results
Effective Search Strategies: Database Limiters
Effective Search Strategies: Use Subject Terms
Saving Sources in QuickSearch
Citing Your Sources with QuickSearch - Tips for Database SearchingThis guide includes tips, tricks, and techniques for conducting successful database searches.
Boolean Operators
Use Boolean Operators as a way to narrow or broaden your search:
AND: use to combine different concepts or keywords; each result will contain all search terms
Example: race AND libraries
OR: use to connect similar concepts or keywords; each result will contain at least one of the search terms
Example: medicine OR health
NOT: use to exclude words or concepts; tells the database to ignore concepts implied by your search
Example: technology NOT database
Parentheses ( ): place around related terms to search for more than one group of keywords
Example: (teaching OR education) AND race
Asterisk *: use at the end of a keyword to search words that start with the same letters
Example: education AND librar*
Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full-full text
- If Wright State University does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Questions? Ask Your Librarian!
Recommended Subject Guides
- Integrated Language Arts (ILA)Subject Guide for Integrated Language Arts (ILA).
- EducationSubject Guide for Education.
Reference
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Search among literary critiques, author biographies, literary journal articles, reference works, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, plot summaries, synopses, work overviews and classic novels.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Contains reproductions of literary criticism from other publications. Includes articles from five resources: 19th Century Literature Criticism, 20th Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, and Short Story Criticism.
- Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Get biographical information about childrens and young adult authors and illustrators. Entries include major events in the authors lives and chronological lists of the authors major works.
- Literature for Young Adults byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9781315211558Publication Date: 2017-03-15Routledge Handbook: Literature for Young Adults explores a great variety of works, genres, and formats, but places special emphasis on contemporary works whose nontraditional themes, protagonists, and literary conventions make them well suited to young adult readers.
- Essentials of Integrating the Language Arts byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9781315211688Publication Date: 2017-05-12Routledge Handbook: Essentials of Integrating the Language Arts presents a comprehensive approach to teaching the language arts, balancing direct instruction in the communication arts and integrating the language arts with other content areas such as music, art, mathematics, social studies, and science.
