Geography - Top Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journals, periodicals and conference proceedings in a broad range of applied sciences literatures.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the sciences. Represented disciplines include astronomy, biochemistry, biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, genetics, geology, materials science, mathematics, medicine, neuroscience, oncology, pediatrics, pharmacology, physics, psychiatry, veterinary science, and zoology. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SCI.
Citation Management
The University Libraries does not offer support for these online reference managers. They are listed as a convenience for our student, faculty, and staff. Many of the University Libraries' article databases will export bibliographic records to reference management software.
- ZoteroZotero is a free and open-source reference management software to manage bibliographic data and related research materials (such as PDF files). It is produced by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.
- EndNote - ClarivateEndNote is a commercial reference management software package, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays and articles. It is produced by Clarivate Analytics (Web of Science publishers).
- MendeleyMendeley is a reference manager which is used to manage and share research papers and generate bibliographies for scholarly articles.
- Citation MachineAutomatically generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian after you type in the information needed.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
