It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Resources: Federal
The University Libraries are part of the nationwide Federal Depository Library Program system. The collection also includes Ohio government documents.
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation. It currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications.
The Supreme Court of the United States (SCOTUS) is the highest court in the federal judiciary of the United States. It has appellate jurisdiction over all U.S. federal and court cases, including federal administrative courts such as the Patent Trials and Appeals Board (PTAB), as well as jurisdiction over state court cases that involve a point of federal law.
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual is published as a special edition of the Federal Register (see 1 CFR 9.1).
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) , the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Resources for Finding Print and Electronic Government Publications
IMPORTANT: Many documents published before 1976 are not included in online library catalogs. Documents specialists in individual libraries may be able to locate them, so it is worthwhile to request them through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or ask in the documents departments of particular FDL libraries.
Defense Technical Information Center is a repository for DOD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business-related technical reports. This version indexes only unclassified documents.