About Using Media
You may use these multimedia resources for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the multimedia creator's permission to use the image.
Always cite multimedia resources as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
Videos
- Rehabilitation Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos illustrate physical treatment of patients with congenital disorders, chronic health issues, and traumatic injuries. Occupational, physical, and speech therapists explain the underlying anatomical and neurological issues in specific patient populations and demonstrate effective treatment techniques.
- Films on Demand Master Academic CollectionIncludes a wide variety of curriculum-focused streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, BBC, HBO, National Geographic, and more. Also includes titles related to fitness, kinesiology, athletic training, and sports medicine.
Images
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
Artstor images are available on the JSTOR platform.
- Wikimedia CommonsA database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
- everystockphoto.comA meta search engine for free photos.
- Flickr's Creative Commons"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license."
- Getty ImagesAnyone can use the photos: Getty Images has an open-embed program that will let users drop in any image they want, as long as the service gets to append a footer at the bottom of the picture with a credit and link to the licensing page.
- Morgue File"All photos found in the Morguefile archive are free for you to download and re-use in your work, be it commercial or not. The photos have been contributed by a wide range of creatives from around the world, ranging from amateur photo hobbyists to professionals."
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)Gateway to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention pictures. Collection includes natural disasters, bioterrorism, environmental and behavioral health, etc. "Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain and are thus free of any copyright restrictions. If you look directly beneath the image you will see a fair use statement that tells you if the image is public domain or copyright protected. Permission is not required for public domain images, but we do ask that you credit the original institution and contributor, when known, whenever the image is used in any publicly distributed media. If the image is copyright protected, you will have to contact the content provider to obtain usage permission."
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog"Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some photos and images may be protected by license."
