Videos to watch before class
During your library visit, we will talk about finding and using good information. Please watch these videos before class so that we can work together on finding information for your writing assignments.
- Stop Searching and Start Finding WorkshopThis is an online workshop. Using a series of videos, you can learn more about finding articles. Sorting through different information sources can be stressful. You’ve heard that using the library databases give you better results, but how do you find them? With the help of Jimmy Fallon and Jonah Hill, we’ll explore how to search the databases to find better results faster and easier.
- Developing keywordsKeywords are words or terms used to describe the main ideas of your research.
- How to search using keywordsUsing keywords the right way can help you find better information to understand your research topic.
- What is a scholarly article?A scholarly article, sometimes referred to as a peer-reviewed article, is one that's been written by a scholar in the field. Its intended audience is other scholars in the area and it is intended to share research about a topic. When it is peer-reviewed, other scholars and experts in the field review the article and make recommendations before it is published.
Developing keywords for your search
It's important to remember that scholarly databases use keywords in their searching. You should identify the main ideas of your speech topic and focus on those. Remember that you'll also want to think of synonyms for the terms and also consider how scholars in the discipline talk about the topic.
Consider using this worksheet as a guide to keep track of the keywords that you use.
Databases to search
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Search general reference resources, and business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Also includes full-text travel books, biographies, primary source documents, and photos, maps, and flags.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowFocus on national and global public policy issues such as human rights, public health, the environment, housing, international commerce and conflict. Articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents provide up-to-date information on a broad range of worldwide contemporary topics.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
More research guides
Check out these related research guides:
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Reflection Form
More Research Help for ...
Need Help?
- How-To VideosLearn how to navigate and use library resources, including searching, citing, saving, and requesting materials.
- Research ToolkitResearch Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
- Ask UsAsk questions via chat, email, or schedule an appointment with your subject librarian.
- Subject LibrariansLearn which librarian specializes in your area of research.