Need help? Just Ask
The links and tips on this page are intended to help you find useful scholarly sources for your culture group presentation. If you're still not sure how to get started or you're struggling to find what you need, email or schedule an appointment with Ximena.
Databases: Find articles for your group presentation
-
EBSCOhost Database A-Z List This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost consists of a suite of databases that can be searched individually or in combination. Searching all databases at once will give you a variety of results from which to choose.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
-
Setting Up Your Google Scholar Library LinksVideo by Medical Librarian Joanna Anderson (used with permission). For the most access to full text, in addition to searching for Wright State, search for and add OhioLINK as another library link.
Search Strategy Examples - Scholarly Books and Articles about Religious Traditions
These searches are to give you possible ideas. This is not an exhaustive list of strategies; you can formulate your search in many different ways and still find useful results.
(anabaptist* or amish or mennonite*) and (health* or healing or illness*)
(church of jesus christ of latter day saints or "lds church" or mormon*) and
(judaism or jewish) AND visit* AND ( ill* or sick* )
jehovah's witness* and (blood transfusion or blood products or blood plasma* or blood platelets or blood donor* or blood donation*)
hindu* and
(islam* or muslim*) and
(roman catholic* or catholic*) and
Note: An * at the end of a part of the word means tells the database to search variations on the word ending that come after that symbol.
Examples of search strings for health-related concepts to combine with religion:
(diet* or "dietary restrictions" or food or foods or nutrition)
(medication* or medicines or pharmaceuticals or drug therapy or therapeutic drugs)
(blood transfusion or blood products or blood plasma* or blood platelets or blood donor* or blood donation*)
(birth or childbirth or reproduction or "family size" or "family planning")
(mortality or death or grieving or bereavement or burial)
((visit*) and sick* or ill*) or (healing or "healing rituals") or (alternative treatment* or alternative therap* or complementary treatment* or complementary therap*)
(terminal illness or terminally ill) and (palliative care)
