Access to PubMed for Wright State students, faculty, and staff
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. To ensure free access to all of Wright State's subscriptions, current Wright State students, faculty, and staff must access PubMed from either the databases list or the research guides on the Wright State University Libraries website. Do NOT access it through PubMed.gov .
What is MEDLINE?
- Summary: MEDLINE® and PubMed®: What's the DifferenceBrief PowerPoint summarizing differences in scope and coverage.
MEDLINE is a comprehensive medical and health science literature database from the National Library of Medicine, including access to some references from nursing journals. MEDLINE is accessible from a variety of interfaces, including PubMed, a free public interface from the National Library of Medicine.
Note: Not everything in PubMed meets MEDLINE's indexing criteria or content scope, as indicated in the "How are they different?" link above. If you want to search only the MEDLINE subset of PubMed, combine AND medline[sb] with your other search elements.
What is MeSH and how does it help me search?
- Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) in MEDLINE®/PubMed®: A TutorialFrom the National Library of Medicine.
NLM PubMed Tutorial: What is in PubMed? (approximate length: 3:00)
Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Find Articles on a Topic (approximate length: 1:00)
Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: PubMed Subject Search: How It Works (approximate length: 4:00)
Tutorial credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder [Clinical Queries] (approximate length: 2:00)
![[video title slide] PubMed: Find the Latest Treatments for a Disease or Disorder](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/79908/images/PubMed-Clinical-Queries.jpg)
Tutorial Credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
NLM PubMed Interactive Tutorial: Save Searches and Set E-mail Alerts (approximate length: 2:00)
![[PubMed Tutorial title] Save searches and set e-mail alerts](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/79908/images/PubMed-Save-Searches-and-Set-Email-Alerts.jpg)
Tutorial Credit: U.S. National Library of Medicine
How do I get an article if Wright State does not have it?
When viewing your search results in PubMed, you will see a Find It button on the abstract page or full view of the citation. This link will allow you to determine whether Wright State has full text subscription access or if you have to request the article using Interlibrary loan.
Often, in addition to the gold Find It icon, there will be publisher icons. Wright State may or may not have subscription access to those publishers, whereas the Find It link provides Wright State-specific information.
Ask Us
Questions?
Ask your librarian!
Attribution
Unless otherwise indicated, the resources on this page are provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. These and other resources can be found on the Trainer's Toolkit page linked below.