It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 7004 - Theoretical Foundations for Nursing Practice: Proposition Paper
This guide is intended to provide suggestions to help you find information for the assignments in NUR 7004.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Search comprehensive coverage of the English language journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles.
Finding Nursing Articles in CINAHL
Using these search options in CINAHL do not guarantee that at least one of the authors will be a nurse (unless you are using one of the nurse author limiters), but the articles will at least be nursing-related.
If you have questions about how to apply these options to your searches, ask the Nursing Librarian.
Disclaimer: These strategies are not recommended if you need to do a comprehensive search of the literature for patient care.
First Author is Nurse or Any Author is Nurse
If you are on your results page, choose "Show More" under the year slider then scroll down to check one of these options.
This limiter was added in 2009, so it will only retrieve results added to the CINAHL database starting in 2009. For the most part, this means that the results retrieved by this limiter will have a publication date of 2009 or later.
Journal Subset = Nursing
If you are on your results page, choose "Show More" under the year slider, then under the Journal Subset menu, select Nursing NOT Core Nursing. (Core Nursing might narrow your retrievals too much).
You can also apply this limiter by including it in one of your search blanks: type in SB Nursing .
Nursing as part of your original search strategy:
Subheading "Nursing", if available
This option only works with some CINAHL subject headings. It does NOT apply to keyword searching.
The CINAHL subject heading you are using may or may not include the subheading "Nursing" (/NU) . If it does, checking that option will help you find articles that the indexers considered to be nursing-related.
nurs* as one of your search terms
If you add nurs* as one of the terms in your search blanks, the interface will find items that include the word nurse, nurses, or nursing in the title of the article or the journal, in the article abstract, or in the article subject headings.
This is the broadest way to include the concept of nursing in your search so articles retrieved by this method may be less relevant to nursing than articles retrieved by one of the other methods.
Combining the results from these methods
Each of the above methods retrieves different results, so to give yourself a larger single set of results, combine the results from all of these search strategies using OR.
Quick Tips: Finding OFTEN CITED Articles
To find OFTEN CITED articles, use Web of Science.
Use the gold Find It button to determine if we have full text access to the article. If you have trouble determining if we have it in full text, use the Ask a Librarian button at the top of this page for various help options.
Web of Science also contains Book Citation Indexes, but be aware that they only cover the years 2005-present, so they are of limited use for finding very heavily cited books or articles. Generally, the more time has passed, the more an item is cited.
Google Scholar will provide some book citations within most of its searches, and it usually also provides a "times cited" count, but without comparing the citation counts with those of other books in that discipline, it is not possible to know what would be considered as "highly cited" for a book.
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles. For Times Cited, the default "Relevance" sort rather than the "most recent" sort probably works best. Look for the "Cited by" link on the left under the article link and abstract for Google Scholar's count of the times cited.
Find books and articles (for the Concept Paper and the Proposition Paper)
Finds paper and electronic books, government documents, media, and more. Includes holdings of local affiliated institutions so be sure to note the location and availability before checking the shelves or placing a hold with the "Request" button.
The link at the top left allows access to PubMed. PubMed allows you to limit to various types of research, such as randomized controlled trials, but there is not a separate overall limit for "research". Letters and commentaries are indexed as such, so you can ignore those article types in your results.
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
Use this list to identify databases to search for disciplines outside of health care or multidisciplinary databases.
Books: Catalog Search-useful for students who live near WSU
Conduct a literature search to substantiate your proposition
Search relevant indexes to the journal literature. Use the links in the "Find books and articles" list above. CINAHL, PubMed, Web of Science, and subject discipline-specific databases relevant to your proposition (such as PsycINFO or Education Research Complete) are you best bets.