Possible Starting Points
Dr. Eustace has already provided you with issues and themes to consider for your policy brief. These resources may also help.
- Ohio Health Policy NewsA weekly news review by the Health Policy Institute of Ohio.
Journals and Other Information Sources for Health Policy and Politics
Browse peer-reviewed journals with a health policy focusThese are online journals Wright State to which Wright State has access. Be sure to pay attention to the publication date ranges, as our access to some titles may only allow us to view older articles. Browsing the articles in these issues might help you pick a topic for your brief, but if you have your topic, it is more efficient to search CINAHL or MEDLINE to locate your articles.
Browse books with Health Policy as a Medical Subject HeadingBooks indexed with the Medical Subject Heading Health Policy. Browsing these lists might help you pick a topic for your brief. Some of the books are in print on the shelf in the Dunbar Library but most are e-books available online to all Wright State students. Books published more recently are listed first.- Browse books with Medical Policy as a Library of Congress Subject HeadingBooks indexed with the Library of Congress Subject Heading Medical Policy. LCSH do not use the term Health Policy. Browsing these lists might help you pick a topic for your brief. Some of the books are in print on the shelf in the Dunbar Library but most are e-books available online to all Wright State students. Books published more recently are listed first.
Government Resources - Wright State UniversityGuide to relevant online and print government sources.
Law - Legal Research - Wright State UniversityGuide to provide tips on researching legal questions.
HeinOnline AcademicU.S. federal publications: U.S. Code, Federal Register..., U.S. and state appellate court opinions, federal legislative histories, and more. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from William S. Hein & Co., Inc.
- [Video] How to Search in HeinOnlineCovers the basics of searching: how to search from the welcome page or from within a specific collection, plus some basic syntax options.
Advanced Search Syntax
One-Box Searching 
CINAHLPlus with Full TextSearch journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to the literature. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.
PubMed - includes MEDLINE and morePubMed points to many different kinds of biomedical literature including research articles, clinical reports, and case studies. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to the literature. Wright State University Libraries purchased some article level access for you from multiple publishers.- Help with PubMedA guide to what PubMed is and how to use it, with links and videos from the National Library of Medicine.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)MEDLINE (EBSCO) is a way to search MEDLINE without using PubMed. It has the same interface as many of our other library databases. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM). [Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]
Global and U.S. News Sources
Access World NewsIncludes major national and international newspapers and other news sources, as well as local and regional titles. Updated daily for current issues and events; deep archives for background.
FactivaLimited Use: 5 users at a time.
Contains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Washington Post.[Video "How to"] Searching for Newspapers in Factiva
Video by Wright State Student Success and Education Librarian Heather Back. (The Wright State University Libraries site looks different now, but the process for searching Factiva is still the same).
Health Policy Websites
This is not an exhaustive list of relevant sites. Please evaluate any other organizational websites you may find using lateral reading.
- RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy AnalysisThe mission of the RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis is to provide timely analysis to federal and state health policy makers, based on the best available research. The RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis is based at the University of Iowa, in the Department of Health Management and Policy at the College of Public Health.
- Health Policy Institute of OhioHPIO’s stated mission is to provide nonpartisan, unbiased research, analysis and communication that enables policymakers to make the most informed decisions possible on matters that affect the health of all Ohioans.
More Policy Research Help
- SW 4700: Social and Economic Justice - Wright State UniversityWright State University Libraries Social and Economic Justice Class Guide. Social Work-focused, but many of the tips and resources provided for legal research, identifying policies, finding sources, and citing sources are still useful for Nursing.
- Social Work: Policy Research - Wright State UniversityWright State University Libraries Social Work Guide. Nursing students should use the links for the basics of legal research, finding statutory or regulatory history, finding state information, and links to government sources and policy organizations / think tanks.
APA Style
- APA Style HelpGeneral APA guidelines, samples and templates, and sample citations for various types of sources.
Evidence Evaluation Table - Template and Sample
- Evidence Evaluation Table TemplateCopy and paste from this template to create the columns for your own Evidence Evaluation Table. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part I,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, July 2010, p. 47-52]
- Sample Evidence Evaluation Table - CompletedThis is an example of an Evidence Evaluation with all of the elements filled in. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part III,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, November 2010, p. 43-51.]
- More EBP Resources for Nursing"How to" links, tutorials, articles, and videos covering all aspects of the process of Evidence-Based Practice.
