Dayton Holocaust Resource Center

Describes the history of the Nazi era in Germany, including Adolf Hitler's rise to power and the many atrocities committed during the Holocaust.

Linda Jacobs Altman explores the loss of childhood in Nazi Germany, showing how propaganda and fear tore apart lives. Through teens' firsthand accounts, she reveals the persecution of Jewish, "undesirable," and "Aryan" children as the Holocaust unfolded.

This book explores the Holocaust, detailing the Nazis' systematic persecution and genocide of Jewish people under Hitler's regime.

Examines how Adolf Hitler used the 1936 Berlin Olympics as propaganda to showcase Nazi power, while hiding the regime's oppressive policies and racism.
There is a teacher resource for this book. Look in the Teacher Resources tab.

Eva Bentheim watches her beloved city change as the Nazis rise to power. As her family faces increasing danger, Eva’s father grows ill, and her mother desperately seeks a way to escape. When Eva's father is taken in a nighttime roundup, she and her boyfriend, Arno, search for a way to save him. The story explores the unbreakable human spirit in the face of hopelessness and the struggle to keep a family together.

Susan Campbell Bartoletti explores the riveting and often chilling story of Germany's powerful Hitler Youth groups.

Provides a concise introduction to Hitler’s life, exploring his rise to power, role in World War II, and the impact of his dictatorship.

Profiles the Nazi war criminal who decided which Auschwitz inmates would work, which would be subjected to experimentation, and which would die.

The author recounts her and her twin's experience as test subjects for Dr. Josef Mengele at the Auschwitz Concentration Camp and what she has done since then.

Discusses the several medical advances that were achieved through unethical medical experimentation of
humans.

"Discusses Kristallnacht and includes stories from the victims, witnesses and perpetrators of the attack and how it marked the beginning of the Holocaust."--Provided by publisher. Includes Teacher Resource.

Discusses the night in November 1938 when the streets of Germany and Austria were full of members of the Nazi Party who destroyed Jewish-owned businesses and homes, synagogues and lives.
Includes a Teacher Resource.

Looks at how Adolf Hitler's anti-Semitic policies and influence brought about Kristallnacht and the Holocaust, and discusses how his choices impacted history and his legacy.

In 1938 Berlin, Germany, a cat sees Rosenstrasse change from a peaceful neighborhood of Jews and
Gentiles to an unfriendly place where, one November night, men in brown shirts destroy Jewish-owned
businesses and arrest or kill Jewish people. Includes Teacher Resource.

Relates the life of Nazi propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels and his role in formulating Hitler's policy of exterminating the Jewish people.

This large-format book combines information about types of WWII propaganda with well-chosen photos, posters, and documents from the era.

Describes the atrocities committed and the many trials which brought to justice some of those who were responsible.

Documentary about Simon Wiesenthal, a holocaust survivor who dedicated most of his life to helping the United States government prosecute Nazi war criminals.
Run time: 105 minutes
PG-13

"Discusses the Kindertransport...and how ten thousand children were saved from the Holocaust."--Publisher

The author describes her experiences as a young girl in England during World War II.

Tells the true stories of children who escaped Nazi Germany on the Kindertransport, a rescue mission led by concerned British to save Jewish children from the Holocaust.

Mona Golabek shares the story of her mother Lisa Jura Golabek's escape from Austria to London on the Kindertransport. In London, in a hostel on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music inspires other displaced children, and they, in turn, cheer her on in her efforts to realize her musical potential. Includes a Teacher Resource.

The story of how ten thousand Jewish children were rescued out of Nazi Europe just before the outbreak of World War II.

In this novel, refugee children struggle to overcome the misconception that their parents are abandoning them while escaping the horrors of war-torn France.

Presents the early life of the cartoon artist and her work as a pioneering cartoon artist.

In 1938, seven-year-old Eva Schlesinger is put aboard a train filled with other Jewish children and carried away from Nazi Germany in a little-known rescue operation called "Kindertransport."

A seven-year-old Jewish girl from Germany suffers fear and uncertainty in July 1939 while traveling by train and boat to the safety of a new life in Scotland.

In 1939 Sweden, two Jewish sisters wait for their parents to flee the Nazis in Austria, but while eight-yearold Nellie settles in quickly, twelve-year-old Stephie feels stranded at the end of the world.

Having left Nazi-occupied Vienna a year ago, thirteen-year-old Jewish refugee Stephie Steiner adapts to life in Gothenburg, where she attends school, falls in love, and worries about her parents who were not allowed to emigrate.

At the end of World War II in 1945, fourteen-year-old Sophie, a German Jew who has lived with a guardian in London for seven years, wonders what will happen when she is reunited with her parents.

Marianne escapes on the first Kindertransport organized to take Jewish children out of Nazi Germany to safety in Britain.

Traces Hitler's life from his childhood in Austria to his final days in Berlin, exploring how his promises of prosperity and power along with anti-Semitic rhetoric allowed him to lead the nation of Germany into World War II.

The author's mother's 1938 autograph book filled with inscriptions from family and friends is the inspiration for a collection of narrative poems about life in Nazi Germany for a Jewish family trying to escape the horrors.

Chronicles the life of the powerful member of the Nazi party who was second in command to Adolf Hitler and leader of the German Air Force during World War II.

Biographical account of Adolf Hitler, the leader of the Nazi Party, whose antisemitism and Jewish Holocaust established him as one of the cruelest dictators in history.

Biographical account of Adolf Eichmann, known as the engineer of death for his involvement with Hitler's regime during World War II.

An account of what life was like in Europe for both Jews and non-Jews while Adolf Hitler was in power.

Describes the rise to power of Adolf Hitler and the Nazi party and their implementation of the "Final Solution" in which over six million Jews were imprisoned and murdered in concentration camps throughout Nazi-occupied territory.

A photographic record of the Nazis reflecting every aspect of the rise of their short-lived empire and its final, cataclysmic downfall.

Thirteen-year-old Korinna must decide whether to report her parents to her Hitler youth group when she discovers that they are hiding Jews in a secret space behind Korinna's bedroom wall.

The true story of Lore Baer who as a four-year-old Jewish child was placed with a Christian family in the Dutch farm country to avoid persecution by the Nazis

Told through the eyes of a child, this is the story of the Braals, two people who willingly put themselves in great danger in order to save the lives of those less fortunate.

This title discusses armed, unarmed, and spiritual resistance to the Nazis during World War II. In doing so, it highlights several teenagers who played important roles during this time.

Accounts of the people who fought back, throughout Europe, against the Nazi terror, describing the courage and daring of such operations as printing clandestine newspapers, blowing up bridges, and helping allies escape.

Relates one family's contribution to the resistance movement in Nazi-occupied Denmark during World
War II.

Profiles the brother and sister who founded White Rose, a student group at Munich's Ludwig-Maximilians University which attempted to build resistance against Hitler through anti-Nazi leaflets and grafitti.

In October, 1942, seventeen-year-old Helmuth Hèubener, imprisoned for distributing anti-Nazi leaflets, recalls his past life and how he came to dedicate himself to bring the truth about Hitler and the war to the German people.

Memoir, in prose and poetry, of Murray Motke and Frances Fruma Gulkowich Berger's story of survival.

A World War II story about how one man saved the lives of many.

Examines the stories of children and teen resisters in Europe during the Holocaust.

In answer to his daughter's questions, a man recalls the terrifying years of his childhood when a brave Polish couple, Alex and Mela Roslan, hid him and other Jewish children from the Nazis.

Tells the stories of those who defied and resisted the Nazis.

Details the efforts of people who risked their own lives to save thousands of Jews and others from Nazi persecution.

An undercover agent during World War II describes how he sneaked into Vichy France and rescued thousands of men and women slated to be sent to concentration camps. Includes a Teacher Resource.

A biography of Chiune Sugihara, a Japanese consul in Lithunia, who saved the lives of thousands of Jews during World War II by issuing visas against the orders of his superiors.

In German-occupied Normandy, France, fifteen-year-old Marianne worries that her mother is exposing the family, especially Marianne's deaf younger brother, to great danger by volunteering for more perilous assignments in the resistance movement.

Two Jewish sisters, escapees of the infamous Warsaw ghetto, devise a plan to thwart an attempt by the
Gestapo to intercept food bound for starving people behind the dark Wall.

Hopkinson traces the stories of the heroic young men and women who would not stand by as their country was occupied by the Nazis.

The true story of a young girl's involvement with the Dutch Resistance during World War II and her subsequent arrest and imprisonment by the Germans.

After hiding from the Nazis for months, cousins Max and Gabi decide to take a nighttime walk and discover something incredible that can help put an end to the Nazi regime.

An account of people in Denmark who risked their lives to protect and rescue their Jewish neighbors from the Nazis during World War II.

Traveling to France in the midst of World War II, an American journalist worked to get a select group of artists and intellectuals out of Europe and was soon involved in helping many others.

Looks at the Chinese diplomat who used his powers--against the orders of his own government--to assist thousands of Jews in escaping the Nazis in Lithuania. Includes Teacher Resource.

Recounts the experiences of the author who, as a young Polish nurse, hid and saved Jews during the Holocaust.

True stories of young men and women who endured the horrors of war.

A story of two girls' friendship and bravery while hiding from the Nazis during the French Resistance is based on the author's aunt's own experiences.

Doreen Rappaport illuminates the defiance of tens of thousands of Jews across eleven Nazi-occupied countries during World War II through twenty-one meticulously researched accounts. Includes Teacher Resource.

Offers information about the man who is responsible for saving the lives of over a thousand Jews during the Holocaust.

Presents the story of how Si Kaddour Benghabret and other Muslims gave Jews shelter and worked in the
resistance to help them escape Nazi persecution during the German occupation of Paris.

Marcel Marceau, the world's most famous mime, enthralled audiences around the world for more than fifty years. When he waved his hand or lifted his eyebrow he was able to speak volumes without ever saying a word. But few know the story of the man behind those gestures.

Presents an overview of non-Jews throughout Europe who tried to save Jews from persecution and extermination by the Nazis.

As millions were caught up in the conflict of World War II, soccer emerged as both a response to domination and a means of manipulation of those in power. Soccer under the Swastika reveals this little-known part of history, rescuing from obscurity many poignant survivor testimonies, old accounts of wartime players and the diaries of survivors and perpetrators.

Elsie Kuhn-Leitz, the daughter of a famous industrialist, risked everything to save the lives of those
persecuted by the Nazi regime.

Traces the life of the Swedish diplomat who saved Hungarian Jews during World War II and mysteriously disappeared after the Russians occupied Budapest.

During World War II in the Ukraine, an orphaned Jewish boy joins a band of partisans who give him an
important assignment against the Nazis

Chronicles the brave exploits of Jaap Penraat, a young Dutch man, who risked his life during World War II to save the lives of over 400 Jews. Includes Teacher Resource.

Explores the life and deeds of Oskar Schindler through introductory material on the Holocaust, and through a collection of articles, survivor stories, and reviews of the motion picture "Schindler's List."

Describes Danish contributions to World War II's Allied cause through such resistance activities as rescue and evacuation of Danish Jews, sabotage of armament factories, shortwave communication with London, illegal press, and recovery of arms, radios, and supplies.

Maria Andzelm, a Catholic teenager in Nazi-occupied Poland, hid two Jewish men under her family’s barn. Despite her efforts to protect them, they were discovered, with devastating consequences. Her story is one of five in this book about brave young people risking everything to save others.

These and other Jewish young people took on incredible risks to fight back against the Nazis in World War II.

Twelve-year-old Dina, her mother, and two sisters must contend with the invasion of the Nazis of their small Ukrainian town during World War II. With the help of a new housekeeper, Nina, they struggle to stay safe from imminent danger to the Jewish community. Based on a true story.

In a time when people were ruthlessly persecuted and killed, some were able to make it through alive. Whether it was thanks to lucky twists of fate or the loving sacrifices of others, they lived to tell their stories, which serve as reminders to never allow such a tragedy to happen again. These are the unbelievable true stories of six children, in their own words, of how they survived one of the darkest times in human history

Like the other boys at his school, Michael O’Shaunessey is a member of the Hitler Youth. But he has a secret. He and his parents are spies, and when they learn about a secret Nazi war mission, things get very complicated. Michael must prove his loyalty to the Nazis, even if it means losing everything that he cares about…including his own life!

You’ll never forget these true stories of people doing extraordinary things in unimaginable circumstances. Perfect for reluctant readers! Library bound.

As World War II raged, millions of young Jewish people were caught up in the horrors of the Nazis' Final Solution. Many readers know of Adolf Hitler and the Nazi state's genocidal campaign against European Jews and others of so-called "inferior" races. Yet so many of the individual stories remain buried in time. Of those who endured the Holocaust, some were caught by the Nazis and sent to concentration camps, some hid right under Hitler's nose, some were separated from their parents, some chose to fight back. Against all odds, some survived. This Scholastic Focus tells some of their stories.

Ruth Gruener was a hidden child during the Holocaust. At the end of the war, she and her parents were overjoyed to be free. But their struggles as displaced people had just begun. In war-ravaged Europe, they waited for paperwork for a chance to come to America. Once they arrived in Brooklyn, they began to build a new life, but spoke little English. Ruth started at a new school and tried to make friends, but she continued to have nightmares and experience flashbacks of her time during World War II. The family's perseverance is a classic story of the American dream, but also illustrates the difficulties that millions of immigrants face in the aftermath of trauma. Includes a foreward by Alan Gratz!

Miep Gies, who as a girl was a refugee during World War I, recognized that the world had once again become a dark place. Especially in danger were Jewish people during the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands, like her boss's family. This is the story of how Miep helped hide the Frank family

An allegorical tale about Nazi occupied Poland in which a town's residents are forced to turn over their musical instruments. A young student rescues the hurdy-gurdy of her teacher, who has presumably befallen a terrible fate, and later, a young boy finds the instrument and intends to pass it--and the importance of remembering--on to his future grandchildren

One winter in Budapest during the Second World War, an Italian closes his ice cream shop for the season, using the storefront to hide his Jewish friends and neighbors, including a boy named Peter. Based on a true story

Ronald Wilfred Jansen visited Anne Frank's home addresses in Frankfurt am Main, Aachen and Amsterdam; her hiding place the Secret Annex; and the Westerbork, Auschwitz-Birkenau and Bergen-Belsen concentration camps where Anne Frank was imprisoned. His book describes her history and the objects that today still remind us of the environment in which she lived. His motivation for writing this book is that it was one of the last opportunities he would have to contact the people who knew Anne; these people revealed some new facts about her and her world. Other contemporaries of Anne Frank also contributed fascinating information about her surroundings. By tracing her footsteps, he gained a more complete picture of Anne Frank and her environment.