Student Technology Assistance Center: Graphic Design and Visual Media

digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Wikimedia Commons is a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

On Pxhere you may find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are released under Creative Commons CC0 into the public domain.

Over 550,000 free (do-whatever-you-want) high-resolution photos brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.

"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license."

Anyone can use the photos: Getty Images has an open-embed program that will let users drop in any image they want, as long as the service gets to append a footer at the bottom of the picture with a credit and link to the licensing page.

"Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!"

PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention pictures. Collection includes natural disasters, bioterrorism, environmental and behavioral health, etc.

"Some of these photos and images are in the public domain and may be used and reproduced without permission or fee. However, some photos and images may be protected by license."

The largest database of free icons available in PNG, SVG, EPS, PSD and BASE 64 formats.

Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes.

The National Gallery of Art was conceived and given to the people of the United States by Andrew W. Mellon (1855–1937). Mellon was a financier and art collector who served as U.S. secretary of the treasury from 1921 to 1932. During his years in Washington, DC, Mellon came to believe that the United States should have a world-class national art museum comparable to those of other nations. Includes over 50,000 items. Located in Washington, DC.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art was founded on April 13, 1870, "to be located in the City of New York, for the purpose of establishing and maintaining in said city a Museum and library of art, of encouraging and developing the study of the fine arts, and the application of arts to manufacture and practical life, of advancing the general knowledge of kindred subjects, and, to that end, of furnishing popular instruction.

An internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th century. Located in New York City.

Covers all the works exhibited in the museum - some 30,000 items. browse the collection by Department, Room, or Recent acquisitions; or search using a Simple or Advanced search option. Located in Paris, France.

The Spanish royal family is responsible for the Prado’s bounty of classical masterpieces. Over centuries, kings and queens collected and commissioned art with passion and good taste. In addition to stars of Spanish painting such as Velázquez, Goya, Ribera, and Zurbarán, the Prado has big collections of Italian (including Titian and Raphael) and Flemish artists. Fernando VII opened the collection to the public in 1819, in the same neoclassic building it’s housed in today, designed by Juan de Villanueva. Located in Madrid, Spain.

a gallery that holds the world’s finest collection of Renaissance paintings. All the famous names of Italian art are here—not only the Renaissance masters, but also painters from the early medieval, baroque, and Mannerist heydays. Located in Paris, France.

a conservancy of freely available information, including software, music, literature, art, history, science, politics, and cultural studies. ibiblio.org is a collaboration of the School of Information and Library Science and the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at The University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

An online magazine for designers and web developers.