Recommended Article Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowFocus on national and global public policy issues such as human rights, public health, the environment, housing, international commerce and conflict. Articles from scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents provide up-to-date information on a broad range of worldwide contemporary topics.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search full-text journal literature in all areas of business, economics, finance, management, management information systems, and marketing. Includes company SWOT analyses, industry and country reports.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Search extensively indexed books, monographs, and conference papers. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology such as anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic, racial, and gender studies, marriage, family, and social structures, and social work.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowContains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of reference books, monographs, and conference papers including publications of the International Political Science Association.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
IPSA indexes and abstracts scholarly journals in political science. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic is a full-text research collection offering U.S. federal publications such as the U.S. Code, Federal Register, treaties and agreements, U.S. and state appellate court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and constitutions of the world
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes environmental studies literature including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, technology, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, and urban planning. Coverage begins in the 1950s. Full-text may be available via Find-It.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive research index focuses on literature investigating the relationship between human beings and the environment. Includes scholarly journals, general-interest magazines, and government publications.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This option will search a combination of the Clarivate science, social science, and arts and humanities citation databases, and conference citations in science and social science. This option is useful when searching for highly cited interdisciplinary literature.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Articles: finding the full text of an article when you have the citation
How would you find the full text for the following citation? This happens most frequently when you look in the footnotes or bibliography of an article--this is a great way to find other sources on your topic as well.
Cole, Richard. "When Gods Become Bureaucrats." Harvard Theological Review 113, no. 2 (April 8, 2020): 186-209.
- Go to the library home page.
- Using quotation marks, type your article title ("When Gods Become Bureaucrats.") in the box. Do not type your journal title in the box.
- If Wright State University owns the access rights to the article you will see a direct link to the pdf. You might also see a yellow "Find It" button below the title. When viewing the bibliographic record the "Find It" button may be on the left side of the page. If Wright State University owns the rights in another subscription database there will be a link in the pop-up window to the full-full text
- If Wright State University does not own access rights to the article you want, you will be presented with an Interlibrary Loan option as the last link. Please take advantage of this option for your research needs.
Evaluating Journals
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowFind publishing opportunities in many academic disciplines. Each entry includes submission guidelines, circulation data, review method, and contact information. The database provides both journalytics and predatory lists of journals. The humanities are poorly represented.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluate and compare journals using Web of Science social science and science citation data calculated as impact factors.
- Open Access Journal Quality Indicators - Grand Valley State UniversityThe open access landscape is complex. There are thousands of peer-reviewed open access journals, with new titles emerging rapidly using a variety of models. While there are many high-quality, peer-reviewed open access publications, there are also journals/publishers that engage in unprofessional or unethical practices. The following guidelines are intended to help you evaluate open access publications as you consider appropriate publication venues, or invitations to serve as reviewers or editors.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
