Organizations of Interest
American Anthropological Association (AAA)
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.
American Association of Biological Anthropologists (AABA)
The AABA is the world's leading professional organization for biological anthropologists. Formed by 83 charter members in 1930, the AAPA now has an international membership of over 2,200.
Society for Applied Anthropology (SFAA)
The Society has for its object the promotion of interdisciplinary scientific investigation of the principles controlling the relations of human beings to one another, and the encouragement of the wide application of these principles to practical problems.
Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)
The Society for Medical Anthropology was formed to promote study of anthropological aspects of health, illness, health care, and related topics.
Royal Anthropological Institute
The RAI is the oldest scholarly association dedicated to anthropology.
Association of Black Anthropologists
The ABA was founded in 1970 in an effort to break down the racial barriers and create a space for black scholars to fully pursue research and scholarship in the field of anthropology.
Museo National de Antropologia
Museo National de Anthropologia or The National Museum of Anthropology, is Mexico's biggest and most visited museums, and one of the most impressive worldwide.
Websites
These are some interesting websites that can connect you with ways to view artifacts, photographs, and exhibits that display cultural and anthropological importance that may be helpful to your research.
Division of Anthropology - American Museum of Natural History
Fully searchable database of artifact/ethnographic, archaeological, and photography collections that have photographs of most of the items. There are also finding aids (documents to help you find information in manuscript collections) and an anthropological publications database.
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Harvard's Peabody Museum has online exhibitions and a searchable collection.
These are some websites filled with articles, blog posts, interviews, and countless other interesting information. While these are not necessarily resources that should be used in your scholarly research and writing, they do have lots of information that can help you generate ideas, or just read for fun!
SAPIENS is a digital magazine that provides a platform aimed at making anthropologists' findings, perspectives, and ideas more accessible to the general public. The magazine covers a wide range of anthropological topics and provides a great deal of interesting reading.
Anthropology News is the American Anthropological Association's online magazine that updates readers on the newest breakthroughs and research in the field.
More of a blog-style website, Anthropology.net provides a more casual reading experience on a wide range of anthropological topics, while also providing excellent interactive components like discussion boards.
More research guides
Or use these related research guides:
