Educational Resource Center Materials
The Wright State University Libraries' Charles and Renate Frydman Educational Resource Center is home to K-12 teacher resources available to the local community.
To access resources after graduation,
- visit the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library collection in person and check out materials using a Greene County, Washington Township, or State Library of Ohio public library card.
- If your library is a member of SearchOhio, you may request a resource through InterLibrary Loan.
Teaching Resources
- INFOhioOhio's PreK-12 digital library includes teaching resources based on Ohio's Learning Standards. E.g. World Book Student (encyclopedia), Go! Ask, Act, Achieve (project-based learning resources), Science Online (STEM resources), and EBSCO databases.
- Wright State University Libraries Catalog SearchSelect Dunbar Library-Educational Resource Center or Dayton Holocaust Resource Center in the right dropdown box to limit the search to teaching materials and resources in the collection.
- Library of Congress: TeachersThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
- Education.comTeaching resources aligned with the Common Core State Standards. Premium membership is an option.
- PBS Learning MediaTeacher resources available with PBS content. Create a free account to save and share content with Google Classroom, Clever, Remind, and Schoology.
- ReadWriteThinkEvery lesson plan on ReadWriteThinkTM has been aligned not only to the IRA/ National Council of Teachers of English Standards for the English Language Arts but to individual state standards and Common Core State Standards, when applicable.
- The Learning NetworkTeach and learn with the NYT. Browse activities for students or resources for teachers under the page title.
- Smithsonian: Learning LabResources, training, and support are organized and structured for teaching and learning by educators and subject experts.
- Edsitement!Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer-evaluated websites.
- Khan AcademyThe organization produces short lessons in the form of videos. Its website also includes supplementary practice exercises and materials for educators.
- National Consortium for Physical Education for Individuals with Disabilities: Teaching ResourcesNCPEID offers various resources for practitioners to help provide quality adapted physical education/activity programming for individuals with disabilities.
- Lee and Low Books' Guides and Lesson PlansOur Teacher's Guides and Lesson Plans are developed by professional educators and offer extensive teaching ideas, curricular connections, and activities that can be adapted to many different educational settings.
- Lee and Low Terms of Use for their resources: "By using the Lee & Low website, you accept and agree to abide by the following terms, which apply only to the abovementioned educator resources and content, and not to the books published by Lee & Low or to other Lee & Low products."
- Picture Books for Blind KidsThe Great Expectations program was created to help parents and teachers bring picture books to life for blind children. Each book is chosen for its unique theme and is supplemented with picture descriptions and free online activities to further explore concepts found within the stories. The online activities are created especially for blind children and use a multi-sensory approach — through song, tactile play, body movement, engaged listening, and word play — all designed to promote active reading experiences for children with visual impairments.
Open Educational Resources
- CORE Scholar: Open Educational ResourcesWright State University Open Education Resources are collected here from across CORE Scholar and feature a range of material types.
- MERLOTMERLOT contains peer-reviewed and selected higher education online learning materials, cataloged by registered members and a set of faculty development support services. See especially the Materials and Learning Exercises links under the Browse drop down menu.
- OER CommonsOER Commons uses a variety of categories to organize resources. The categories are assigned by the resources' creators and the OER Commons administrators, and they describe various aspects of the items, including grade level, subject area, and material type.
- OASISA large user friendly OER search engine that allows for users to search by subject or by course material type (e.g. textbooks, simulations, audio).
- Openverse (formerly Creative Commons Search)Creative Commons and WordPress created a search engine that lets you search for resources that are CC licensed. The image search is the most useful.
Ohio Core Standards
National Core Standards
Ask Us!
chat loading...
Student Success Instruction Librarian
Fair Use for Teachers
- Copyright, Fair Use, and TEACH Act LibGuideThis guide has information about copyright, fair use, and the TEACH act that is helpful to know when reusing materials for the classroom.
Fair Use TL;DR:
1. The majority of the content must be created by you.
2. Credit or cite the copyright holder.
3. Do not commercialize the copyrighted work.
- Creative Commons Licenses• Attribution requires credit to the creator.
• Noncommercial states that it cannot be sold.
• No Derivative Works states that it cannot be recreated or adapted for other use.
• Share Alike requires adaptations to be shared under the same terms. - A Fair(y) Use TaleProfessor Eric Faden of Bucknell University created this amusing review of copyright law using clips from Disney animated films (Disney is one of the most aggressive enforcers of copyright.)
Copyright Resources for Teachers
- Copyright and Creativity Teacher Professional DevelopmentC&C’s online professional development course for teachers is free and available on-demand. It includes tools for using copyrighted materials in your classroom and resources for teaching copyright to students.
- Common Sense Media's Digital Citizenship CurriculumThis non-profit's curriculum includes videos, lesson plans, and printouts by topic and grade level; it encompasses all topics that fall under the digital citizenship umbrella, so its lessons on fair use are fairly broad.