Related Databases
Click on a database name to search it.
Education-related databases:
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center contains citations to journal articles and document abstracts on all aspects of education research and practice. Full-text may be available via Find-It and linked ERIC documents.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.
- Mometrix eLibrary
This collection is the world’s most comprehensive test preparation tool, offering study materials for over 1,500 different exams, including Ohio Assessments for Educators study guides and practice tests. It also includes flash cards, practice exam questions, and study guides for the NCLEX-RN and the Family Nurse Practitioner Certification Exam.
Temporary access to this database and its contents was provided through the Students First grant. This database is available through 2026.
English-related databases:
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the arts and humanities and covers selected items from major science and social science journals. Represented disciplines include archaeology, architecture, art, classics, dance, film, folklore, poetry, history, language, linguistics, poetry, radio, television, and theatre. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as AHCI.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journals, books and other important reference sources published worldwide in the humanities. Contains unique full-text content not available in other indexes. Additional full-text may be available via Find-It.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of critical, scholarly material in literature, criticism, drama, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore. Worldwide coverage includes articles chosen from over 3,500 journals, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, and proceedings. Also known as the Modern Language Association International Bibliography. Links to full-text when available.
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Search among literary critiques, author biographies, literary journal articles, reference works, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, plot summaries, synopses, work overviews and classic novels.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Contains reproductions of literary criticism from other publications. Includes articles from five resources: 19th Century Literature Criticism, 20th Century Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, and Short Story Criticism.
General databases:
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
Notable Journals
- Journal of Adolescent & Adult LiteracyThe Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is a peer-reviewed journal that highlights innovative, peer-reviewed, research-based practices aimed at improving engagement and achievement among literacy learners ages 12 and older.
- The Journal of Teaching WritingThe Journal of Teaching Writing publishes articles of interest to teachers at all grade levels, from preschool through university, whose interest or responsibility is the teaching of writing. Articles address the practices and theories which bear on our knowledge of how people learn and communicate through writing.
- The Elementary School Journal (ESJ)ESJ publishes peer-reviewed articles that pertain to both education theory and research and their implications for teaching practice. In addition, ESJ presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, and sociology to school learning and teaching.
- The Alan Review (TAR)TAR is a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal published by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE). It is devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults.
- Voices from the MiddleVoices publishes original contributions by middle-level teachers, students, teacher educators, and researchers in response to specific themes that focus on our discipline, our teaching, and our students. Voices offers middle-level teachers innovative and practical ideas for classroom use that are rooted in current research; this is a journal for teachers by teachers.
- English JournalEnglish Journal is NCTE's award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are putting the latest technologies to work in their classrooms.
- Ohio Journal of English Language Arts (OJELA)(OJELA) is the official journal of OCTELA. It is published twice a year and circulates to over 2,000 language arts teachers of elementary, secondary, and college students. Within its editorial columns, departments, and feature articles, the journal seeks to publish contributions pertaining to all aspects of language arts learning and teaching.
Questions? Ask Your Librarian!
Questions? Ask your librarian!
More research guides
Or use these related research guides:
- Dayton Holocaust Resource Center Teacher Guide This guide organizes the collection's resources for teacher ease of use. It includes resources by topic, age, and resource type (non-print, classroom activities, and websites). Material topics include the holocaust, genocide, bullying, and World War 2.