Levels of Evidence and Study Designs
Levels of evidence vary somewhat depending on the source you use. Two of the most commonly used levels of evidence in Nursing are from authors Melnyk and Fineout-Overholt and the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model, but they are not the only options that exist. Therefore, when indicating the level of evidence in a synthesis table or written narrative, ALWAYS clearly indicate whose evidence levels or grading system you are using.
- Levels of Evidence (Melnyk and Fineout-Overholt, 2023)Referenced on a guide from Amanda Pruka at Winona State University. Also includes levels of evidence as described by LoBiondo-Wood & Haber (2022).
- Levels of Evidence - Johns Hopkins Evidence Based Practice ModelA helpful guide from Cullom-Davis Library, Bradley University.
- Evidence Levels (Evidence Pyramids)This page of the evidence-based practice guide for DNP students provides links to various visual representations of the levels of evidence. Again, these vary slightly according to the system being used, but the basic hierarchy is the same.
- Study DesignsList of common (not exhaustive) study designs and definitions compiled by Advocate Health-Midwest Library
- Suggested Study Designs by Question TypeFrom Advocate Health - Midwest. Lists the study designs that are considered to fit best with each type of clinical question.
Characteristics of Qualitative, Quantitative, or Mixed Methods Studies
Refer to your course materials for information to help you to determine which type of study you have. These resources may provide additional clues. Please check with your professor if you are having trouble.
- Nursing Resources: Types of Research within Qualitative and QuantitativeFrom Ebling Library, University of Wisconsin
- Understanding Research Study DesignsFrom the University of Minnsota Bio-Medical Library.
- Qualitative versus Quantitative ResearchFrom Maricopa Community Colleges. 2 brief videos (2 minutes each) with clues for differentiating between qualitative and quantitative research. Includes a comparison table.
- Article: Qualitative research findings as evidence: Utility in nursing practiceMiller, W.R. (2010).
- Article: Mixed methods in nursing research: An overview and practical examplesDoorenbos, A.Z. (2014). [Author manuscript: peer-reviewed and accepted].
- Nursing Research Basics: Finding Qualitative Research ArticlesFrom Ashland University.
- Nursing Research Basics: Finding Quantitative Research ArticlesFrom Ashland University.
Research Designs and Methods - eBooks
Encyclopedia of Research Design by Call Number: Online through Sage KnowledgeISBN: 9781412961288Publication Date: 2010-06-22"Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results. It covers the spectrum of research design strategies, from material presented in introductory classes to topics necessary in graduate research; it addresses cross- and multidisciplinary research needs, with many examples drawn from the social and behavioral sciences, neurosciences, and biomedical and life sciences; it provides summaries of advantages and disadvantages of often-used strategies; and it uses hundreds of sample tables, figures, and equations based on real-life cases."--Publisher's description
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Call Number: Online through Sage KnowledgeISBN: 9781412963909Publication Date: 2008-08-21Summary from catalog: Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research. Covers every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, and the role of theory in qualitative research
Types of Reviews in Healthcare - Articles
- Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.xRequires authentication with w number and password. To access the full text, click the PDF full text link to the left of the abstract.
- MacEntee, M. I. (2019). A typology of systematic reviews for synthesising evidence on health care. GERODONTOLOGY, 36(4), 303–312. https://doi.org/10.1111/ger.12439Requires authentication with w number and password. To access the full text, click the PDF full text link to the left of the abstract.
Evidence Evaluation Table - Template and Sample
- Evidence Evaluation Table TemplateCopy and paste from this template to create the columns for your own Evidence Evaluation Table. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part I,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, July 2010, p. 47-52]
- Sample Evidence Evaluation Table - CompletedThis is an example of an Evidence Evaluation with all of the elements filled in. [Online-only content for “Critical Appraisal of the Evidence: Part III,” by Fineout-Overholt and colleagues in the American Journal of Nursing, November 2010, p. 43-51.]
- More EBP Resources for Nursing"How to" links, tutorials, articles, and videos covering all aspects of the process of Evidence-Based Practice.
