It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NUR 7005 - Nursing Research and Evidence for Practice: Scholarly Articles
A guide to help you locate the best evidence for clinical questions.
CINAHL help: subject searching and limiting search results to articles likely to be written by nurses. START WITH CINAHL AND LIMIT TO THE NURSING JOURNAL SUBSET TO BE SURE YOUR TOPIC AND RESEARCH ARTICLE ARE WITHIN THE SCOPE AND PRACTICE OF NURSING!!! Ask for HELP at right, if needed.
Research Toolkit workshops are designed to address the most common challenges students face in doing college-level research, including navigating databases, locating relevant sources, and making sense of information once it is found.
Articles - Best Databases to Use
When searching for individual research studies in healthcare, PubMed and CINAHL should be used. Google and Google Scholar are NOT sufficient for doing a good literature search in health care, although you can use Google Scholar to supplement your searches in subject specific databases.
Alert:This database is no longer available as of 12/31/2021.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
Temporary access to this database and its contents has been provided through OhioLINK and the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds to bridge COVID-created gaps in higher education instructional materials and library resources. This database will be available through December 31, 2021.
PubMed provides free access to the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier database – MEDLINE. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare.
Indexes psychology literature and related disciplines including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, cognitive science, and linguistics. Includes journals and book chapters. Use Historic PsycINFO to identify literature published as early as the 1920s. Links occur to full-text when available.