International Studies: United Nations

Note that many issues have links to related issues.

The Chronicle is a journal published quarterly by the Department of Public Information. Full-text articles from 1996 are available in several different databases.

Maintained "to meet the information needs of delegations working at UN Headquarters in New York."

Includes the Historic Archives (documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945); the Lecture Series (a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems); and the Research Library (an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence, publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides. )

"This database provides information on the status of over 500 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (including the texts of reservations, declarations and objections) and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea."

Index of United Nations publications since 1979 (and some earlier) and other publications in the UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Some links to full text. Other parts of UNBISnet provide voting records and an index to speeches.

Full text of UN parliamentary documentation and official records since 1993 (and resolutions since 1946). The new, enhanced, search page allows keyword searching and then narrowing by topic.

Browsable lists of major documents available online

This thesaurus will help you find the subject terminology of documents and programs within the UN.