It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library of Congress Call Numbers for Communication Studies
Books focusing on Communication Studies can be found in many places throughout the library's main collection. The list of Library of Congress call numbers below are just some of the more concentrated areas of the collection.
H: Social Sciences
HF 5717 - 5734.7: Business Communication
P: Philology and Linguistics
P 87 - 96: Communication, Mass Media
P 99 - 99.6: Semiotics, Signs and Symbols, Nonverbal Communication
Reference: Encyclopedias and Background Information
Nearly 40 well-known, international researchers formulate important themes, approaches and valuable insights into the dynamic and evolving field of media education research in the digital age. The book provides a fruitful framework for discussing critical issues from different perspectives: theoretical, methodological and practical; educational, pedagogic and political; local and global.
This book presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. It focuses on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. It includes essays from a variety of global contexts, from Asia and the Middle East to the Americas.
Communication studies is a fragmented field. As a result of its roots in various disciplinary traditions, it is built on fluid intellectual boundaries. Should we worry about this state of dispersion? Waisbord argues that it is impossible to transcend fragmentation, but communication studies is better served by accepting and stimulating differences
This handbook brings together 26 ethnographic research reports from around the world about communication. The studies explore 13 languages from 17 countries across 6 continents. Together, the studies examine, through cultural analyses, communication practices in cross-cultural perspective.
This innovative edited collection presents new insights into emerging debates around digital communication practices. It brings together research by leading international experts to examine methods and approaches, multimodality, face and identity, across five thematically organised sections.
A highly interdisciplinary overview of the wide spectrum of current international research and professional practice in intercultural communication, this is a key reference book for students, lecturers and professionals alike. Key examples of contrastive, interactive, imagological and interlingual approaches are discussed, as well as the impact of cultural, economic and socio-political power hierarchies in cultural encounters, essential for contemporary research in critical intercultural communication and postcolonial studies.