Images and Videos
You may use these images and videos for in-class presentations, but if your presentation or paper will be posted to the internet or published in some other way, then you must get the image creator's permission to use the image.
Always cite images as you would any other resource. See our guide for Citing your Sources or ask your librarian if you need help.
- Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Visit this site and create a free account to use software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on notable people from antiquity to the present. Includes portrait images.
- Flicker images under Creative Commons licensesCreative Commons offers alternatives to full copyright coverage. Here, you can search by type of license. Look to the right for explanations of the different types of licenses.
- Google ImagesWhen you have done a search on an image, click TOOLS, located under the search bar. Click the USAGE RIGHTS drop-down menu and select CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE. The search will be filtered based on if the image has a creative commons license.
- PixabayAlways double check the license on every image!
"Stunning free images & royalty free stock; Over 1.9 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community."
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowDigital reproductions of New York Times articles and pages from 1851-2006. Includes photos and advertisements.
- Internet Archives - Moving ImagesThis library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsThe New York Public Library digital collection includes over 180,000 public domain images that are free to share and reuse. Just remember to cite the image.
Speeches
To access audio and video files (and, in some cases, view the transcripts) for some of the most important speeches in American history, visit the following sites:
- Internet Archives - Audio ArchivesThis library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask your librarian!
Brian Olesko
Contact:
Dunbar Library 120
(937) 775-3022
Subjects: African and African American Studies, Anthropology, Applied Behavioral Sciences, Arabic, Chinese, Communication, Criminal Justice, French, Geography, German, Government Resources, International Studies, Mathematics, Model UN, Modern Languages, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Regional Studies, Sociology, Spanish, Statistical Data, Tests and Measurements, Urban Affairs, Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies