Reference Works
Whether you're already familiar with your topic or not, encyclopedias and other reference works can provide a detailed overview of general topics.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Search and read entries from over one hundred social science and science specialized reference encyclopedias published by Sage.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- WSU CatalogLooking for books? See what we have in the library by searching our catalog.
- OhioLINKRequest books from college and university libraries all over Ohio.
- SearchOhioBorrow from Ohio public libraries through SearchOhio.
Developing Your Topic
Finding the right level of research is an important first step. Consider whether your topic is too broad (you're getting too many results or they're not relevant enough to your topic) or too narrow (you're finding too few results).
Use these handouts to help you narrow or broaden your topic and identify keywords:
- Building a Search Strategy - HandoutUse this handout to help you develop a research question, identify potential keywords and synonyms, and determine which boolean operators to use in order to narrow or broaden your search.
- Tips for Narrowing a Topic - HandoutUse this handout if you are getting too many results when searching.
- Tips for Broadening a Topic - HandoutUse this handout if you are getting too few results when searching.
The Deep Web or Invisible Web
- The Deep Web - from the University of Washington LibrariesDefines the invisible web and provides options for searching it .
Identifying Quality Information
People write for many different reasons - to inform, entertain, persuade, mislead, satirize, describe, etc. and the quality of the information can depend on the reason it was written or shared. Information changes as new facts, data, and knowledge comes to light. In an academic assignment, it is important to use information that is reliable, accurate, objective, and up-to-date. You will need to evaluate each source you locate, to determine if it is something that will support or contradict your thesis and/or topic. You will look at more sources than you need, and that is okay, and encouraged! The more sources you read, the more informed you are about the topic and can pick the best resources for your assignment.
Below is a list of videos, eBooks, and websites that can help you evaluate information and sources.
- Evaluating Information: Media Sources - Video Playlist6 part video series
Learn strategies for evaluating sources whether you find them on the Internet, in the library, or in the library’s databases. - Evaluating Sources Using the SIFT Model - eBook"One of the biggest challenges that writers face is finding credible sources. Mike Caulfield created the SIFT acronym to describe four moves that writers should make to evaluate their sources."
- Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by Teaching & Learning, Ohio State University Libraries - eBookSection 6: Evaluating Information includes chapters on thinking critically, evaluating for relevancy and credibility, and identifying degree of bias.
- How to Spot Fake News Infographic"IFLA has made this infographic with eight simple steps (based on FactCheck.org’s 2016 article How to Spot Fake News) to discover the verifiability of a given news-piece in front of you." -- IFLA
Search for Articles
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
Using the Information You Find
Considering how you incorporate an article into your research can help you write a more professional, polished paper. Evaluate your use of the information you gather from you research with some of the questions on this worksheet.
Citing Your Sources
- Citing Your SourcesHelp links for various citation styles, including MLA, APA, and others.
Help with Creating Multimedia Projects
- STAC (Student Technology Assistance Center)Online DIY help or face to face individual help by appointment.
More Help
- Wright State University Libraries "How to" ResourcesShort introductions on how to navigate the library's resources. Menu is on the left side.
Stop Searching and Start FindingSorting through different information sources can be stressful. You’ve heard that using the library databases give you better results, but they can be confusing and overwhelming. In this workshop, we demystify databases and offer suggestions that will help you to find better results faster and easier.
Simple Steps to Reading Scholarly ArticlesAre you dreading reading through those 8-20 page articles you found for your paper? Do they seem like they are written in a different language? Never fear! In this workshop, you will learn strategies for making sense of those long, and let’s face it, sometimes boring, articles. Funds for the creation of this workshop were provided by the Students First Fund, a grant program created by the Wright State University Foundation.
Evaluating Information: Media SourcesHow do you know if the article you found is good enough to use for your assignment? Learn strategies for evaluating sources whether you find them on the Internet, in the library, or in the library’s databases.
Integrating Your SourcesYou’ve searched for articles and books and you have a list of sources that are on your topic. Now how are you supposed to use them in your paper? In this workshop, staff from the Writing Center and a librarian will take you through the process of integrating those sources in your paper. Learn how to quote and paraphrase while avoiding plagiarism and keeping your voice the focus of your paper.
Citing Your SourcesWe all know that plagiarism is bad, but is avoiding plagiarism the only reason to cite? Why do we have to follow all the pesky rules about capitalization, punctuation, and numbering? And why are there so many different styles? In this workshop, we provide an overview of the reasons for citing, guidelines for when to cite and when it's not necessary, and how to find answers to your questions about formatting.Funds for the creation of this workshop were provided by the Students First Fund, a grant program created by the Wright State University Foundation.
Ask Us
Questions? Ask a librarian!
