NUR 7003 - Health Policy, Politics, and Issues: Policy

These are online journals Wright State to which Wright State has access. Be sure to pay attention to the publication date ranges, as our access to some titles may only allow us to view older articles. Browsing the articles in these issues might help you pick a topic for your brief, but if you have your topic, it is more efficient to search CINAHL or MEDLINE to locate your articles.

Books indexed with the Medical Subject Heading Health Policy. Browsing these lists might help you pick a topic for your brief. Some of the books are in print on the shelf in the Dunbar Library but most are e-books available online to all Wright State students. Books published more recently are listed first.

Books indexed with the Library of Congress Subject Heading Medical Policy. LCSH do not use the term Health Policy. Browsing these lists might help you pick a topic for your brief. Some of the books are in print on the shelf in the Dunbar Library but most are e-books available online to all Wright State students. Books published more recently are listed first.

Guide compiled by Wright State Government and History Librarian Ran Raider to relevant online and print government sources.

Guide compiled by Wright State Government and History Librarian Ran Raider to provide tips on researching legal questions.

U.S. federal publications: U.S. Code, Federal Register..., U.S. and state appellate court opinions, federal legislative histories, and more. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from William S. Hein & Co., Inc.

Covers the basics of searching: how to search from the welcome page or from within a specific collection, plus some basic syntax options.

Advanced Search Syntax
One-Box Searching

Search journal literature related to nursing and the allied health disciplines. Also contains early-release citations for pre-published journal articles. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to the literature. Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.

PubMed points to many different kinds of biomedical literature including research articles, clinical reports, and case studies. Use the Find-It button to determine Wright State access options to the literature. Wright State University Libraries purchased some article level access for you from multiple publishers.

A guide to what PubMed is and how to use it, with links and videos from the National Library of Medicine.

MEDLINE (EBSCO) is a way to search MEDLINE without using PubMed. It has the same interface as many of our other library databases. Content is citations and abstracts from national and international journals covering all aspects of biomedicine including allied health and other fields as they relate to medicine or healthcare. From the National Library of Medicine (NLM). [Wright State University Libraries purchased access for you from EBSCO.]

Includes major national and international newspapers and other news sources, as well as local and regional titles. Updated daily for current issues and events; deep archives for background.

Limited Use: 5 users at a time.

Contains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Washington Post.

Video by Wright State Student Success and Education Librarian Heather Back. (The Wright State University Libraries site looks different now, but the process for searching Factiva is still the same).

Wright State University Libraries Social and Economic Justice Class Guide. Social Work-focused, but many of the tips and resources provided for legal research, identifying policies, finding sources, and citing sources are still useful for Nursing.

Wright State University Libraries Social Work Guide. Nursing students should use the links for the basics of legal research, finding statutory or regulatory history, finding state information, and links to government sources and policy organizations / think tanks.

Summary: "From a giant of health care policy, an engaging and enlightening account of why American health care is so expensive -- and why it doesn't have to be. Uwe Reinhardt was a towering figure and moral conscience of health care policy in the United States and beyond. Famously bipartisan, he advised presidents and Congress on health reform and originated central features of the Affordable Care Act. In Priced Out, Reinhardt offers an engaging and enlightening account of today's U.S. health care system, explaining why it costs so much more and delivers so much less than the systems of every other advanced country, why this situation is morally indefensible, and how we might improve it. The problem, Reinhardt says, is not one of economics but of social ethics. There is no American political consensus on a fundamental question other countries settled long ago: to what extent should we be our brothers' and sisters' keepers when it comes to health care? Drawing on the best evidence, he guides readers through the chaotic, secretive, and inefficient way America finances health care, and he offers a penetrating ethical analysis of recent reform proposals. At this point, he argues, the United States appears to have three stark choices: the government can make the rich help pay for the health care of the poor, ration care by income, or control costs. Reinhardt proposes an alternative path: that by age 26 all Americans must choose either to join an insurance arrangement with community-rated premiums, or take a chance on being uninsured or relying on a health insurance market that charges premiums based on health status. An incisive look at the American health care system, Priced Out dispels the confusion, ignorance, myths, and misinformation that hinder effective reform."-- Provided by publisher