Research Guides: PLS 2220: Home

Country information

Country information
State Department
Foreign embassies in the US
UN Human Development Insights
UN Data Index by Country or Area
Find economic indicators, social indicators, environment and infrastructure data.
UN Data Explorer
Explore by datasets, sources, or topics.
World Bank Country information

News Sources

Access World News

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Factiva
Contains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.
Newspaper Source

Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.

UN Publications

UN Resources & Documents
Access online research tools and documents.
Official Document System (ODS)
United Nations official document system: provides full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organ & Security Council plenary documents since 1946 ; older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
Meeting Coverage and Press Releases
UN Member States on the Record
Research Guides by Topic
UN Security Council

Relevant Agencies

Note that these are not the only organizations that might have information on your country's position on a topic. This is to get you started. Consider a site search like that demonstrated in class for other international organizations or UN agencies.

Using good sources

For this project, you may need to include information from sources that are not in peer-reviewed journal articles. When information has not already gone through a review process, you need to make sure to consider the source and information critically.

Wright State's Online Research Toolkit Workshop Evaluating Information: Media Sources includes 6 short videos about how to use the SIFT method to evaluate information. In addition, selected skill explainer videos from the Digital Inquiry Group's Civic Online Reasoning Curriculum are linked on this guide to assist you with finding reputable sources.

Evaluating Information - Media Sources
Wright State University Libraries (Videos only - no quizzes). How do you know if the article you found is good enough to use for your assignment? Learn strategies for evaluating sources whether you find them on the Internet, in the library, or in the library’s databases.