Home - PLS 4670/6670 - Introduction to Government and Politics in China - Research Guides at Wright State University

Background information on China

US Department of State China page
Includes background fact sheet, embassies and consulates, and bilateral US-China information. Make sure to scroll down for additional links.
World Bank China Data
Countries and their cultures
This encyclopedia explores the similarities and differences of over two hundred different cultures, explains how geographic borders define and separate nations, and describes cultural variations in foods, rituals, pastimes, and philosophies.
CIA World Factbook - China
Includes information on government, economy, military and security, transnational issues, and more.

Current news about China

Access World News

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes news publications from around the world. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time.
Newspaper Source

Search the full-text for regional U.S. newspapers and national and international newspapers, newswires, and TV and radio news transcripts. Several national and many regional news sources are included full-text. Abstracts of articles from The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition are also available.
Factiva
Contains full-text business information including trade publications and newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, AP), company reports, and market data. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

Issue Areas

National Committee on US-China Relations
Make sure to check out the Videos & Podcasts page and the Publications page.
Center for Strategic & International Studies China Power Project
US China Business Council
Freedom House
Their reports allow sorting by topic or country. Also check out the "issues" tab at the top of the page.
Human Rights Watch
Look for country reports on China, or look through topic reports.

Academic Search Complete
Search for China and a keyword or two to describe the issue you're focusing on.
International Political Science Abstracts

IPSA indexes and abstracts scholarly journals in political science. Full-text may be available via Find-It.

If you are not familiar with searching databases, check the Stop Searching and Start Finding Research Toolkit workshop or the Self Help videos on QuickSearch. Links to both are in the "Need Help?" box in the left column.