In-Class Assessment
Best Databases to Use
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center contains citations to journal articles and document abstracts on all aspects of education research and practice. Full-text may be available via Find-It and linked ERIC documents.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Tips for database searching A guide that mentions database tips, tricks, and techniques.
- Database Search Strategies HandoutIn this handout are tips and techniques to search for resources in a database.
Wright State University Database Searching
- Using Boolean Operators as a way to narrow or broaden your search:
AND: use to combine different concepts or keywords; each result will contain all search terms
Example: libraries AND education
OR: use to connect similar concepts or keywords; each result will contain at least one of the search terms
Example: teach OR educate
Quotation Marks " ": place around phrases to search for words in that exact order or with that exact spelling
Example: "higher education"
Parentheses ( ): place around related terms to search for more than one group of keywords
Example: (teach OR educate) AND libraries
Asterisk *: use at the end of a keyword to search words that start with the same letters
Example: holocaust AND (educat* OR teach*)
Searching for Education Journals
- Educational Resource Center JournalsWhere are the ERC journals? How do I find them? Find out in this handout!
- How to Locate a Specific JournalWhether you are looking for an electronic journal or a physical journal, you can see how to do that in this handout.
Find It
How would you find this article if all you had was this citation?
Thompson, H. R., Duvall, J., Padrez, R., Rosekrans, N., & Madsen, K. A. (2016). The impact of moderate-vigorous intensity physical education class immediately prior to standardized testing on student test-taking behaviors. Mental Health and Physical Activity, 11, 7-12. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mhpa.2016.06.002
How do you search in this journal for an article?
Perspectives in Education
More Research Guides
Questions? Ask Your Librarian!
Student Success Instruction Librarian
Google Scholar Library Link
Google Scholar works even better when you have it connected to your library. Set up your library link and get results that are accessible through the library.
- Click Library Link
- Type Wright State in the Library Access Links Search Bar
- Click Search
- Check the box next to Wright State University-Full Text
- Click Save and start searching!