Research Guides: Social Work: Home

Suggested Databases & Resources

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Limited Use 4 users
Contains abstracts from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Read American Psychiatric Association books, journals, and assessment tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual DSM-V and APA practice guidelines.

Database Search Strategies: YouTube Playlist
This YouTube playlist includes videos on searching the University Libraries databases.

Videos:
Introduction to QuickSearch
Brief Look at QuickSearch Results
Effective Search Strategies: Database Limiters
Effective Search Strategies: Use Subject Terms
Saving Sources in QuickSearch
Citing Your Sources with QuickSearch
Tips for Database Searching
This guide includes tips, tricks, and techniques for conducting successful database searches.