Education Subject Guide
- Education Subject GuideThis guide has many other resources that could assist you with your research.
Best Databases to Use
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Cover all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual, health education, and testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Some full-text is included. Other full-text may be available via Find-It.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center contains citations to journal articles and document abstracts on all aspects of education research and practice. Full-text may be available via Find-It and linked ERIC documents.
- QuickSearch This link opens in a new window QuickSearch combines results from many search tools for you to review in one list. Results come from the Wright State catalog and hundreds of library databases including all of our Ebscohost databases, JSTOR, the Web of Science, and others.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Get full-text access to magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, business, education, and the humanities. Full-text may be available via Find-It. Useful place to begin broad searches for general topics.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary resource indexes journal literature of the social sciences. Represented disciplines include anthropology, business, communication, criminology, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, history, law, political science, psychology, religion, social psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies. Search by topic, keyword, or author. Identify articles that cited a previous work. Links to full-text occur when available. Also known as SSCI.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Indexes research literature across a wide range of disciplines and formats. Use the library connection to gScholar to get more attached full-text articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR contains the complete digitized backfile of core scholarly journals from a broad range of academic disciplines.
- Tips for database searching A guide that mentions database tips, tricks, and techniques.
- Database Search Strategies HandoutIn this handout are tips and techniques to search for resources in a database.
How can I access electronic journal articles?
You must be a current Wright State University student or employee to use the resources remotely. Access resources through the University Libraries' website and use your campus username (e.g. w012abc) and password to log in to your library account.
Once you are on the library's website, begin searching in QuickSearch or another database. If you find an article, book, or another resource but cannot find the full-text, Ask a Librarian for help finding access to the resource.
Searching for Journals
How to find electronic or physical journals:
- How to Locate a Specific JournalWhether you are looking for an electronic journal or a physical journal, you can see how to do that in this handout.
Summarizing and Synthesizing Articles for Literature Review
Consider using one or all of the worksheets to help you use the information you gather as you do research for a more polished, clear literatue review.
- Summarizing articles (W)When you read articles, it's helpful to think about them in the context of your research question, theory, and hypothesis. This worksheet is designed to help you start approaching articles in that way.
- Identifying themes for a literature reviewA literature review should help the reader understand the state of research leading up to your topic, not to provide an overview of individual articles. This worksheet is designed to help you start thinking in terms of how different sources contribute to understand the themes that influence your research.
- Literature Review Breakdown ToolBreakdown the resource that you are reading and insert information, quotes, or ideas about the source into the spreadsheet to organize your thoughts and create an outline for your literature review.
- Tips for Writing a Literature ReviewThis handout will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Simple Steps to Reading Scholarly ArticlesI recommend watching Part 3: Reading Scholarly Articles Strategically, but for a complete understanding, watch all 4 videos of the series.
Vetting
When determining whether to use a journal's article for your research, search the title of the journal and check the publication guidelines, about, mission, or vision.
Here is a list of things to check for:
- Assessing Journal CredibilityWhere is it indexed?
What is its publishing history?
Is it peer-reviewed?
What is its impact factor?
Search for the journal in the database below for a snapshot of the journal:
- Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowCabells includes journal information, evaluation metrics, submission details. Each journal entry displays contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and actionable metrics.
Subject Specific Encyclopedias
- The Praeger Handbook of Special Education byCall Number: LC3957 .P73 2007ISBN: 0313332622Publication Date: 2006-12-12
- Encyclopedia of Special Education byCall Number: LC4007 .E53 2007ISBN: 9780471678021Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Web of Science Tutorials
- Web of Science TutorialsShort videos that explain how to use the Web of Science database to do research.
Books
Type "special education" into the Search Bar for results.
Google Scholar Library Link
Google Scholar works even better when you have it connected to your library. Set up your library link and get results that are accessible through the library.
- Click Library Link
- Type Wright State in the Library Access Links Search Bar
- Click Search
- Check the box next to Wright State University-Full Text
- Click Save and start searching!
More Research Guides
Student Success Instruction Librarian
Ask A Librarian
chat loading...